Home » 2014 » January » 23

Daily Archives: January 23, 2014

Rental Car Reviews

Since I have spent 100 of the last approximately 420 days with various rental cars, I figured it was about time that I reviewed my rentals.  This is also meant to serve as a  public service announcement of sorts in the event you have the good fortune step footVersa 1 in a rental agency yourself!!

1.  Mitsubishi Gallant – This one is certainly large enough to carry a few suitcases, and passengers, but the interior was a bit strange.  I also surrendered my ride to my car-mates after two days to switch over to a different car due to the fact that my fellow passengers were insane.  Drove fairly well, kind of an odd boxy shape, slightly off-putting interior.  Overall, 5/10.

2. Ford Fiesta – Piece of crap.  Maybe the world’s worst car.  The rental person explained it has some sort of dual-transmission that makes it seem like it’s sucking while in fact it is doing some extremely awesome sh*t.  Well, it wasn’t extremely awesome – it was the farthest thing from awesome ever (assuming you exclude the ‘Twilight’ films).  It also felt like the car was going to blow up at any moment.  1/10!

3.  Chevrolet Malibu – Eh, spectacularly average.  4/10.

4.  Hyundai Elantra – Magnificent!  It had some pep, the steering wheel was so loose it felt like you could spin it and it would go

Minivan 1

around and around forever like the big wheel on the ‘Price is Right’  (Note:  I tried this several times and it will not spin around endlessly – no need to try it for yourself).  The interior was nice, and the only reason it loses points is because the sight-lines on that car were horrendous.  Maybe you get used to it, but over a week or two you pretty much were changing lanes without knowing if anyone was in your massive blind spot.  Since it was a rental though I’m not taking points away for this – I’m not all that concerned about blind spots, or accidents in a rental.  8/10.

(more…)

