Home » Life » Atlanta

Atlanta

HSHD Calendar

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,262 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

The next stop on my tour of the country was Atlanta.  Atlanta is perhaps best known for being in Georgia, and, ummm, I think that’s about it.  Peaches, maybe??  I always thought Georgia was one of those states that never gets cold – it isn’t.  It was cold.  Very cold.  And by very cold I mean like 40 degrees.  I was guessing it was going to be about 80.

As a result, I did not bring the proper attire to deal with the frigid Buildingtemperatures.  I also did not have the necessary clothes for scraping off my car when I returned to Syracuse and almost froze to death in the airport parking lot.  It did not help that I was wearing Chuck Taylor’s and stepped in a puddle prior to having to stand in the snow brushing my car off for 15 minutes…..Luckily I have two scrapers and was able to cut down the time spent scraping considerably.

So, what did I think of Atlanta?  Undecided.  Driving was less difficult than I figured it would be, but I never really got a feel for the city at all.  The city itself seemed clean, kind of small though and it feels very spread out.   Like one super-gigantic suburb.

I did find driving about was a tad strange, their on-ramps curve in all sorts of nonsensical directions and roads seem to criss-cross for no reason whatsoever.  It kind of just feels like a big clusterfuck no matter where you are – or where I was at least.  Since I had a rental car though, and I don’t care at all if I crash the aforementioned rental, it was pretty easy going for me.  The traffic admittedly seemed a tad insane, and once you Colonnadewere nearing the city it seemed like you were stuck at each light for about 45 minutes.  That was rather annoying.

The one thing I did try while down there was collard greens, and okra – neither of which I had much interest in, but figured I might as well take advantage of this opportunity to prove my suspicions that they are NOT delicious correct.  Well, I was right.  I also tried their fried chicken, which tasted like fried chicken, and since I don’t typically enjoy fried chicken this didn’t do much to change my perception.  Anyway, the place I went to was called ‘The Colonnade’ which I found by Googling places featured on the Food Network.  Turns out it’s the second oldest restaurant in Atlanta – I probably should have gone to the oldest.

Anyway, the pictures aren’t all that exciting.  They feature a shot of some building downtown, a “bookstore” called Peek-a-Boo (Atlanta seemed to have a unusually high number of  adult bookstores), a shot from the plane, a shot of the de-icer on the window of the plane since they left me on the runway in Chicago for 2 hours as they de-iced the stupid thing, Meehan’s (where I drank away the nights), and a couple dinner shots.  Oh, and my hotel room- which was exceptionally nice for a Courtyard……

Plane Peek A Boo Buildings Chik'n l Hotel De-Icing Bread Basket

Leave a Reply

