Home » Animals » DC

DC

HSHD Calendar

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,262 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

I had my first visit to our nation’s capital this weekend.  I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I did figure at the very least I would get to see the White House and maybe some of the cast from ‘The West Wing.’  Honestly, the White House seemed a bit smaller than I thought it would be.  Otherwise, it was a pretty nice little city.BeFunky_ndsdull_3

The one thing nobody told me about DC though (not that I asked)  is that every single wrong turn you take feeds directly into Virginia.  I’m not sure why they want you to end up in Virginia so badly, but they do.  Not that there is anything wrong with Virginia, it’s just not where I want be.  Pretty much ever.

The highlight of this trip though was not the White House, not the Lincoln Memorial – it was my rental car.  A Buick Regal TII Turbo!! Maybe I’m turning into an old lady, but my god was that the smoothest driving vehicle I have ever had the pleasure of stepping foot in.  It was fast, it had a heated steering wheel (and seats), the radio was outstanding – the whole damn car was just plain spectacular.   Especially when you compare it to the broken Toyota Camry and Hyundai Sonata the rental company tried to stick me with…..shame on you Budget!

No sporting events this trip (ending my streak), but I was able to make a trip to the zoo and see not just one panda, but two pandas…..one being a baby! Although the baby panda was sleeping behind a ball so it wasn’t such a great view.  Still, since only about threes zoos in the country have a panda it seemed like a good idea to go see one.

As I waited in line to see the panda there was a sign prominently displaying the panda motto, “[b]uilt to survive,” which makes the panda seem like an unstoppable beast, but they mostly just sit around eating bamboo.  The people in front of me seemed to think pandas were relatively useless outside of being pretty cute – I thought they were relatively useless.

Fun Fact:  Pandas were meant to be carnivores, but apparently are too lazy to eat meat – or do much else.

BeFunky_nudll_2Still, even the Panda-hating people in front of me were willing to wait in line 10-15 minutes to see them.  I was also able to get a tour of the big cat exhibits, which included a couple of baby tigers, and a lion getting an ultrasound.

Otherwise, the trip was short, and not all that eventful.  DC is a little bit more residential than I expected, and the rest is sort of how I pictured it from pre-trip review via Google Maps.   I.e. lots of big white historic looking buildings and museums.

I also broke a tooth while dining on a delicious pita at this place.  Which I would still recommend in spite of what they have done to me.  Stupid teeth.

Pictures:  White House, Buick, some museum I ran in to use the restroom and saw the hope diamond, some giant squid, and that glass case with the skeletons, Lincoln Memorial, pandas, tigers, a goat, hotel, lions, etc……

BeFunky_nulldd_5 BeFunky_null_3.jpg BeFunky_null_5.jpg BeFunky_null_2.jpg WH Pananananada.jpg Lion!! Lion2 Lion5 Capital1 PANDAAAA BeFunky_Tilt-Shift_2.jpg Goat Hotel Buick

Leave a Reply

