Home » Blogging » The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby

HSHD Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,333 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

So I saw Baz Luhrmann’s version of ‘The Great Gatsby’, and it wasn’t quite as bad as I was expecting it to be.  Going in I figured it would be bright and overflowing with misplaced music (and that was pretty much spot on), but I also thought it would be absolutely horrendous and it ended up being decent enough.  So, in summation, I would say Luhrmann knocked it out of the park.  🙂Claire Forlani 14

Early on the movie seemed to be a bit more like I was expecting, but at some point Luhrmann settled down into more of a regular film.  Since I think everyone is fairly familiar with the story, I’ll highlight what I didn’t like.

  • Carey Mulligan – She just didn’t seem to fit in the role, and the character seemed to be portrayed a bit differently than I remembe from the book.  She came off as a very sympathetic character – probably not as much in the book.
  • Jay-Z – I’m not sure if Luhrmann is good friends with Jay-Z, or really, really, really, really wants to be, but other than one time that I recall the songs seemed a bit out of place.  At one point I actually had trouble not laughing.
  • Any scene involving a car looked like something out of Speed Racer – way overdone.
  • The Amy Winehouse and Beyonce songs that weren’t being sung by the original recording artist – I suppose it was nice to not have Jay-Z providing ALL the music, but it was kind of distracting trying to place the songs since you recognize the words, but not the voice.   I guess only Jay-Z was good enough to get his own songs in sung by the man himself.
  • Tom Buchannon seemed a little too stiff.
  • Not enough Claire Forlani.  Okay, there was no Claire Forlani, but that seemed like a mistake to me.
  • The ending seemed to wrap up too quickly.

That’s it – I can’t really recommend it, but I wouldn’t warn anyone off either if they were interested.

1 Comment

  1. dbmoviesblog says:

    Very fair points. I have to say I agree with all of them. I guess the director wanted the film to be ‘in your face’ hence the crazy camera during car shooting, and appeal to younger generation, hence the rapper’s soundtrack. Overblown for sure.

Leave a Reply

