Home » Cars » O-H-I-O

O-H-I-O

HSHD Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,616 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

After a month in Ohio I have finally returned to update my blog!  Before detailing my (not-so) epic adventures I thought I should thank the good people of Ohio for putting up with me for 26 days, and the staff at the Marriott for making my bed every day, washing my dishes, giving me new towels,

Anyway, after a month in Ohio the big takeaways are as follows:

1.  They have a gigantic statue of somebody outside a church right next to a building with approximately 150 giraffe statues on top of it (pictured below).   It’s the oddest combo I have ever seen – and since it’s so great I figured I would share a picture.photo (3)

Awesome.

2.  Ohio has ridiculously cheap cigarettes, and Dayton, OH has perhaps the worst mall in America.  I’m fairly certain it’s the only mall in the country that does not have a Gap.  Oddly enough it does have 3 Bath and Body Works inside.

3.  Apparently I will be watching every NCAA Tournament in Ohio going forward.  Syracuse made the FINAL FOUR which is probably the greatest thing to happen to me since Syracuse last made the Final Four over a decade ago.  Accordingly, until the streak ends you will find me in Dayton every March from here on out.

Sooooooooooooooooo what did I learn about Dayton, OH.  Dayton is best known for being founded by the Thompson family in 1796 and was named after Johnny Dayton – apparently he owned the land and thus earned the right to have the city named after himself.  Seems like the Thompson family got shafted, but a city named Thompson was probably doomed to failure anyway so I guess it worked out for everyone.

Also, Dayton is commonly referred to as the “Gem City” although nobody knows why because not a single precious gem has ever been found there outside of a Kay Jewelers.

The only other bit of interesting news is that I got to drive two separate rental cars – both of which I will sadly have to give a thumbs down to.  A Chrysler 200 or maybe 300, which drove okay, but nothing special.  And a Ford Fiesta – perhaps the worst car ever made.  The first car I ever owned, a Malibu Racer that leaked water pretty much everywhere when it rained, was actually a smoother ride.  I’m not quite sure what was wrong with the transmission on that car, but it was embarassingly bad – and the slowest accelerating car of all time.  That didn’t stop me from drag racing it up and down the strip though and almost overtaking a few people that were making their way along the local bike path.

I was able to revisit my two favorite chain restaurants – Qdoba and Noodles and Company, and both were as fantastic as I remembered.  They really need to make their way into New York state……..

Picture time:

photo (4) photo (2) photo (5)

From left to right:  A shot from inside the Fiesta, the view from my hotel, and downtown DAYTON!!!

5 Comments

  1. Ellen says:

    Rockford’s mall does not have a gap either. I believe they factored that in when ranking it in the Forbe’s top ten worst cities in America.

    • ronniedigital says:

      Really? I’m astounded – I thought I had stumbled upon a once in a lifetime experience. I even took pictures so I could always remember never seeing a Gap there!!! 🙂

      • Ellen says:

        How do you take pictures of the absence of a Gap? Photo one – JCPenny. Caption “This is not a Gap.” Photo two …

      • ronniedigital says:

        Ummmm, yes. it seemed like a solid plan at the time, but I’m beginning to recognize the flaws!

  2. Good post. I learn something totally new and
    challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always helpful to read through articles
    from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

