Home » Blogging » My trip to the gas station! (From the Archives!!)

My trip to the gas station! (From the Archives!!)

HSHD Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,616 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

(Originally posted October 2010)

claire-forlani-crouch-end-5I stopped at the Mobil gas station last night and as I pulled up I saw a PT Cruiser at the pump with the hose still attached to the gas tank of the car (or whatever a PT Cruiser is supposed to be –  is it a car or minivan?).

Anyway, as I am pulling up I see a woman get into the car and she begins to pull forward with the pump still attached.  At this point I begin thinking that I could either; A) Try to warn her by honking, or, B) Enjoy the once in a lifetime experience of watching someone rip the gas pump from the gas dispensing unit.

Just like any other sane human being would do I chose option B.

I have to admit I was expecting a lot more excitement than what actually followed.  I figured the car would pull away, the hose would detach from gas dispensing unit (or whatever it’s called) and gas would start spraying everywhere.  At this point I figured some unsuspecting low-life would almost assuredly wander over with a cigarette and the whole town would go up in flames.  In my mind it would look something like the end of ‘Fight Club’ – I even started hearing the Pixies in my head.

In actuality nothing happens.  The car drives away, a loud pop follows, and the car goes a few feet before stopping.  No gas spraying out, no fire –  nothing!!!!  They didn’t even perform a citizen’s arrest on the lady driving the car, the attendant just let her leave.

After resting my head on the steering wheel for several minutes cursing the oil & gas industry for their stupid safety precautions  I got out and proceeded to enter the store.  Now, I didn’t witness what happened next, but the attendant apparently tried to reattach the hose and when he did the gas finally sprayed out.

I know this because when the hapless attendant entered the store I immediately smelled gas and it just so happened that he was drenched in the stuff.  Since I am very polite, I inquired if he was aware that he smelled like gas, and not surprisingly he did.  I then asked him to leave the store since the smell was bothering me.

The End.

2 Comments

  1. DebbieDigital says:

    Awesome post!!

  2. Ellen says:

    Agreed.

Leave a Reply

