Home » Food » Retreat!

Retreat!

HSHD Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HSHD Stats

  • 294,616 hits

Visitors

free counters

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

HSHD Comments

HSHD Contributors

One of my bigger pet peeves, probably second to people who cheat at Words with Friends, is soda prices at restaurants.  The first time I remember losing my mind over soda was in Bayside about a decade ago.  After watching a football game or two and preparing to pay my bill I realized I was not getting free refills, and ended up purchasing about $100 worth of coke (probably two cans worth after ice is figured in).  Since then I try to boycott any establishment that does not provide free refills (unless the price is amazingly low).  The other thing that will lead to a boycott is just generally excessive pricing.

Sooooooo, at work on Friday I ventured out for lunch with my co-workers to The Retreat in Liverpool (Liverpool is a bit North in Syracuse).  Although the lunch was fine, the reason I am writing the post, in case you could not guess, is due to the price of their soda.

Note:  I had a chicken fajita wrap, which in of itself is pretty odd because I have never had a fajita in my life.  I guess I still haven’t, but the wrap version was pretty good.  The ingredients didn’t quite align with how I picture fajitas, but it was good regardless.

Second Note:  Speaking of wraps, I also feel the need to commend them on closing the wrap properly.  All too often when I try to get wraps they are wrapped poorly and fall apart.  So, this almost makes up for my issue – but not quite.

At the end of the lunch I noticed the bill included a $2.25 charge for soda.  I can buy a full dinner with unlimited soda from Taco Bell for that much.  Well, it may cost more than that, but not much more.  Not that I want to buy dinner from Taco Bell mind you, but the point remains the same – $2.25 is insane for soda, even with unlimited refills.  The threshold for me on soda is $1.75, once you hit or break that barrier you are forcing me to boycott your restaurant.  So, to The Retreat, in spite of your service and food I am now boycotting you……..good day!

4 Comments

  1. matt says:

    Was it $2.25 for one soda or for unlimited? Also, when did you start calling it soda instead of pop? When you moved to Syracuse? When in Rome.

  2. Laura says:

    I have begun referring to it exclusively as sodie pop.

  3. ronniedigital says:

    Ummm, I think I transitioned to soda a while ago, but I still go back and forth a bit. NYC people tend to freak out on you when you say pop, so out of fear I started calling it soda.

    Sodie Pop means you have ice cream in your soda/pop!!

  4. ronniedigital says:

    It was $2.25 for unlimited, but I didn’t get a refill so I spent 2.25 for one can of soda. They could at least provide an option, like $1.00 for no refill, $2.25 for unlimited….

Leave a Reply

